A long day

31 Oct

Picking up right where I left off from the last post (only about eight hours into my 13h22m flight), I’m still sitting on the plane. I end up watching another movie – The Adjustment Bureau. I thoroughly enjoy it – it does have Matt Damon in it after all. After the movie I eat another plane meal consisting of Teriyaki “chicken” a salad and a pack of Milano cookies. I get in about an hour and half of sleep then we finally arrive. Consensus from the team is the flight went very quickly even though most of us got little to no sleep.
Upon our arrival we gather as a group, have a quick toilet break where, like the other guys, am in awe of the technology in the toilet (restroom), especially the hand dryer – it’s paper thin and has neon blue lights all over it. We proceed to customs whereby now everyone else has gone through so we have no lines to contend with. From there we head to baggage and then to customs. Outside customs one guy asks me to take his picture next to the Welcome to Japan. I proceed to do so only to be interupted by a Usain Bolt paced police officer yelling to me, “No Pictcha!” My bad. I promise I was only trying to get the sign and nothing about how well you accept my declaration form. From here we begin a crazy game of follow the leader through the airport; first to take our bags to a van where two guys have the lucky job of driving our luggage six plus hours to where we will be staying. Then back into the airport to exchange money, buy tickets for the express train, buy our rail pass, board the express train and then ride that for forty-five minutes to Tokyo where we wait an hour before we board the Hayabusa (bullet train). It’s dark by now so we can’t see much. What we do see is a huge city still conserving energy and electricity. Once we get out of the city our speeds finally hit the 300km/h we heard so much about. Two hours later we arrive in Furukawa where we are picked up by another couple guys in vans then head to the house where we are staying until Saturday morning. We meet a few others, talk about the agenda for the morning (dressed, breakfast and ready to go at 7.30). The meeting adjourns then we get ready for bed. I skype Sarah and Brynleigh to tell them good night, get ready for bed then have a poor night of sleep, getting up in the middle of the night, not just once, but twice to pee, ready to call it a night at 3.45 but knowing I can’t.
I’m calling this post complete since I am falling asleep between sentences. Tomorrow I will write about our first day of work, the mayhem we witnessed and all we accomplished on little rest.

One Response to “A long day”

  1. Blair October 31, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    Enjoying the posts. Love you, Ben. Gini

Leave a comment